Home for the Holidays

22 Dec

Its Christmas time and instead of feeling the holiday cheer I think I just might pull my brains out through my ears. I love the holidays, but there are a few things that drive me crazy during the winter festivities…

Like everyone piled in the mini van with puffy coats, a billion or so gifts, and a few dessert platters. I like my space and even a ten minute drive to Grandmas house can turn into a bloodbath if I’m not in a good mood.  There’s just something about not being able to move my arms, the heater aimed right at my face, the radio barfing out the worst Christmas music I’ve ever heard, my hands getting dry and cracked, my brothers hitting each other in the backseat, my littlest sister yelling out my name to talk to me, my Mom yelling at my brothers to stop wrestling in the car, the stuffy smell you get with seven people and four different desserts all meshed in one car, and Emma sticking her finger in my ear that makes me want to jump out of the car and into oncoming traffic.

Just thinking of it now makes me claustrophobic.

2 Responses to “Home for the Holidays”

  1. SadieSadie December 22, 2008 at 11:57 pm #

    Haha! This is hilarious. I think I can relate. It kind of reminds me of EVERY holiday ever.

  2. Jennie December 27, 2008 at 10:40 pm #

    Bahahahaha! Oh, Maddie, I MISS YOU!!! And I’ve never seen you this upset… unless you count when you come home from working for 9 hours with Carrie!

Leave a comment